Home > Kids Camp, Sewing, Training, Uncategorized > Watched Kids Learn to Sew at Camp

Watched Kids Learn to Sew at Camp

Sometimes there is nothing cooler than seeing a bunch of little girls focused and challenged creatively and finding a gift that may last a lifetime.

In Beaverton, Nancy Bishop was teaching two classes of kids camp.  Their first project was a pot holder.  Lol, I sure wish my first project was less ambitious.

I tried to make nightclothes for my two children.

I wasted a lot of fabric and took a lot of frustrating moments to figure out cutting out a pattern correctly.

But here are a little over a dozen kids from eight to thirteen who are focused, quiet intensity, accomplishing tasks and finishing their work.

I great big hurray for all of them.

And they will be back tomorrow morning to start again.

I’m proud of them.

Actually, I kinda envy them.

I didn’t have much for talents or life-skills when I was a child.

And that makes me very happy for these girls.

Many blessings and have a great sewing day.

SS

PS, leave a comment telling us what your first project was.  I’d love to hear it.

  1. Jenny
    July 10, 2012 at 4:26 pm

    My first sewing project was a Colonial era gown for my graduate speech recital about Abigail Adams. So, yeah–simpler would have been so much better 🙂 But, through some sort of miracle, it turned out okay!

    • July 10, 2012 at 11:45 pm

      That is awesome! Oh, we have to get a picture of that on here.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

